Tue, Jun
0 New Articles

APC leads in Ondo governorship election:


With one local governments left out of the 18 in Ondo state, Chief Rotimi Akeredolu, has clinched 14 local governments, clearly ahead of other contenders.

Results still being collated on Sunday in the Ondo state governorship election indicate that APC is still ahead of PDP and AD.

The result still being awaited is from Ilaje local governments. The Returning officer announced that the results are still compiled.

The Chief Returning Officer, Prof. A. Ambali, announced an break and said they will reconvene at 11 am.

The main candidates are Mr. Rotimi Akeredolu of APC and Mr Eyitayo Jegede of PDP.

The results are being collated at the headquarters of the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC) in Akure, Ondo state capital.

PDP has highest number of votes in two local governments.

The results from the local governments are hereunder as announced.

APC 4, 253, PDP 7,313 in Ondo East local government PDP
APC 10,681, PDP 8,306 in Ile Oluji Okeigbo local government APC
APC 13,464 PDP 6,493 in Akoko North east local government APC
APC 10,958 PDP 6,742 in Ifedore local government APC
APC 11,138 , AD 6,710, PDP 5,907 in Irele local government APC
APC 13,454, PDP 6,520 Ose local government APC
APC 10,673, PDP 17,382 in Ondo West PDP
APC 6,384, PDP 4,239 in Akoko south east APC
APC 19,892, PDP 7,691, AD 9,359 in Akoko South West APC
APC 13,048, PDP 6,049 in Akoko North West APC
APC 10,710 PDP 6119 Akure north APC
AD 16,294, APC 14,930 Okitipupa local AD
APC 32,988, PDP 4,241 Owo local government APC
APC 10,981, PDP 7,975 Idanre Local APC
APC 17,581, PDP 8,668 Odigbo Local government APC
APC 25,797, PDP 25,005 Akure South Local government APC
APC 10,700, PDP 8,701 Ese Odo local government APC

The collation officers took time to cancel results from polling units where there were discrepancies and violence, including ballot snatching.

Some voters had commended the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC) and security agencies for a hitch-free governorship election.

In Okitipupa, they said that the card readers functioned seamlessly in the area making the accreditation and voting process to be fast.

They also lauded the security agencies for their prompt action to stop criminality at polling centres.

Mr Wale Adekoya, a People’s Democratic Party (PDP) chieftain in the area, told NAN that there was no challenge with the card readers.

“I have to commend INEC for their early distribution of materials, the punctuality of their staff as well as effective functioning of the card reader machines,” he said.

An Alliance for Democracy agent, Mr Rotimi Olasenoja, also commended security agents for their prompt action to make the election credible.

” We have enough security agents on ground and they are doing their job,” he said

Mrs Adewunmi Oloko, an APC supporter, also said the election was fair and credible.

Mr Dare John, INEC’s Presiding Officer for Okitipupa Ward 2, Unit 017, said that the voters were cooperative and orderly in their conduct, promoting a smooth electoral process.

“The electorate cooperated with us and were orderly too and we have no issue with the card reader machine,” John said. (NAN)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.